Thoughts on Michael Jackson Passing Today

Standard

I’ve been in shock for the last several hours. I think of the memories and music Michael Jackson has brought, it brings back feelings of when I heard on the news of a guy named Elvis Presley dying.

I’ve had trouble concentrating writing today. I just stopped when I heard the news today at 4pm. I’ve not been able to do work the rest of the day, it’s been such a shock. So, I thought I should get some of the feelings out in my blog. At least that way, I’m writing.

Michael is being dissed left and right on many message boards right now. There are a lot of positive things too and memories. I was wanted to add to the memories being shared. I think the whole world has them.

He was a true musical hero to many. I do hope he is remembered for his music and what he brought to the world. I hope most of the negativity and bad press died with him today, and he’s remembered for the music he brought to this world.

It’s possible that some of the things that happened in his childhood caused later problems. Maybe he should have got more help. Thinking that boys sleeping in the same bed was normal could have meant something had made him feel it was normal. Sleeping could have meant getting some z’s.

But I’m going to remember him for the memories. It’s what I’ve been doing since most of the scandals started in the mid-2000s. My favorite moment is probably at the peek of “Thriller” being released. It was the Summer of 1983. There was nothing cooler than roller skating to tracks off the album when going out as a 12 year old. Yeah, complete with disco ball and lights playing during the roller skating. Yes, my blonde hair was feathered. And if anything like “Beat It” or “Billie Jean” came on, it was a fast skate. He was truly the King of Pop.

I still have the vinyl of “Thriller” in storage along with my other records. I’m glad I held onto it.

About Tiffany Turner

I am a teacher by day, writer during the evening and weekends. I've written a children's fantasy series called the Crystal Keeper Chronicles. I've learned a lot as an Independent author. I want to share that now through blog posts, interviewing fellow authors, and reviewing other children's books. If you don't see it out there, build the blog yourself. I'm hoping to create a resource for people to find quality children's books that don't always fall along the lines of mainstream.

Leave a Reply

