Sample Sunday Feb. 13, 2011

Standard

Thought I’d start adding to the Books Section in my blog by starting my first Sample Sunday blog entry. This is a thread that helps connect different blogs on a Kindle Writers Board that I frequent. I thought I’d start out with an excerpt from one of my books to start to get people familiar with what I’ve done. I’ll later add some drafts of two current writing projects, one being the third book in the Crystal Keeper Series.

Let’s start out the festivities with an excerpt from my first book,

It is a children’s book for ages 8-12, middle reader novel.

Wanda has discovered that the Fairy World is real. She is given a choice by the Fairy Queen. A choice that could end all of her adventures.

Excerpt from starts on page 26-27,

I took a moment to think. This was big. Really big. I mean, when else do you get to hang with fairies. But I didn’t want to be bashing slime all the time either. There’s no reset button in real life, right?

“Well, there’s got to be a reason for everything.” I thought out loud.
“Maybe I was meant to go into the orchard to read right then, and see the crow, and see what the World of Fairy is really like.”

“This must be your choice and yours alone. I would give you more time if there wasn’t such the need for a cure.”

“Cure?”

“Yes, we fairies suffer greatly from what you humans call pollution. It is poison to the land that we draw our magic from. The fairies get sick from the pollution that destroys the land they tend.”

“And you need me to get a cure, don’t you?”

The Queen nodded with a smile. “You are a quick one, Wanda dear.” She chuckled to herself. “You can have some time to think it over.”

I looked down for a sec. This could be dangerous later, I guess. But I’d managed to come through so far, figuring out how to make it. I had the brains. After all, I get tons of “A”s in school.

But then, I remembered the look on Jessica’s face when she got the gold metal at the gymnastics meet, and I hadn’t even placed. I wanted to be good at something. That’s when I dropped out of the advanced class and took intermediate instead.

Then, I felt a knowing that this was right. Like it was somehow my destiny. Somehow, this would help me not only with gymnastics, but with other stuff too.

“I don’t think I want this to be a dream. I want it all to stay real.” I breathed in deep. I was really going to do it. “I’ll be your Keeper.”

For more samplings of Indie Authors, visit this thread KindleBoards.com. There are a variety of Indie authors with several genres represented on the thread.

About Tiffany Turner

I am a teacher by day, writer during the evening and weekends. I've written a children's fantasy series called the Crystal Keeper Chronicles. I've learned a lot as an Independent author. I want to share that now through blog posts, interviewing fellow authors, and reviewing other children's books. If you don't see it out there, build the blog yourself. I'm hoping to create a resource for people to find quality children's books that don't always fall along the lines of mainstream.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

