YA Realistic Fiction That Asks, “Would I Do That?”

Standard

Snow Burn by Joel Arnold


Review for Snow Burn by Joel Arnold

What if you save someone’s life? What if you knew they were a criminal? Would you do it? This is the main focus of the book Snowburn, a YA suspense novel, that kept me turning the pages until I found the answer. With about 30,000 words in length, it’s a quick read for teen or adult. With the added bonus of page turning suspense, it’s a realistic fiction treat for the mind.

Two teenage boys, Vince and Tommy are unlikely friends. Vince, the football jock and Tommy, the band geek, find a common interest in drums and horror films that begins an unusual friendship. But Vince loves to walk the edge. He convinces Tommy to camp in the snow, building an igloo and digging in from an unexpected blizzard. The groan heard nearby turns out to be a man caught in the blizzard as well. Vince and Tommy save him only to find the life changing decision puts them at risk as well.

I enjoyed this YA for the suspenseful situation that the author creates. It’s a predictable event, but executed in a way that drives the reader to the solution. I couldn’t stop turning the pages. I usually don’t enjoy realistic fiction, but found this story propelled me forward to it’s climax. There was a bit of a let down in the ending, again predictable. But it did seem necessary to the theme of the book. Teenagers that enjoy realistic fiction and survival stories should enjoy this one. I think even adults will find this a quick, but interesting read.

Rated 4 Stars-Available on Smashwords in several ebook formats.

About Tiffany Turner

I am a teacher by day, writer during the evening and weekends. I've written a children's fantasy series called the Crystal Keeper Chronicles. I've learned a lot as an Independent author. I want to share that now through blog posts, interviewing fellow authors, and reviewing other children's books. If you don't see it out there, build the blog yourself. I'm hoping to create a resource for people to find quality children's books that don't always fall along the lines of mainstream.

Leave a Reply

