#Sample Sunday May 1, 2011

Standard

In the spirit of Mother’s Day next weekend, I wanted to post an excerpt from The Lost Secret of Fairies of Wanda and her mother. Remember those times growing up where your mother busts you for coming in late from playing outside. But what if you had a secret you couldn’t tell her?

Excerpt from pages 38-42 of The Lost Secret of Fairies:

Bright light. The sun was blinding after the dimmer light of the crystal caves. There was no sign of Malik. All I could see was a crow. “Malik?”

“Caw…caw…” The crow came closer and bowed. Behind something bumped my leg. A black cat was looking up at me.” “Meow…purr”. She rubbed around my legs.

“Where should I start looking for the spring?” I asked both of the animal-fairies. Both black creatures looked at me. “Do either of you know?” Complete silence. Not even a meow or caw.

“Wait,” I snapped my fingers. “I got it. The old Keeper thought it was north in the creek.” The black cat and crow just stared back. Not even a nod. Hmm. “Then the creek has got to be the place to start.”

“Wanda!” My name coming from the direction of my house broke my thought. That can’t be good.

“Oh no, that’s Mom.”

“WANDA!”

I looked down at both animals. “She only yells like that when it’s time to come in. It must already be near dinner time.” I looked around, and noticed the sun was already lower than it should be around dinner. In fact, it was only a little time before sunset. Had I been gone all day? But it only seemed like an hour at most in the crystal caves?

“Wanda, Wanda, please answer!” There was a plaintive plea in her tone now. She must have been really worried. How long had she been calling me?

“COMING MOM,” I yelled back. I turned to the crow and cat. “I’m sorry, I have to go in and see what my mom wants. It’s a lot later than I usually stay out here. She’s probably worried.” The crow bobbed down, and the cat lowered its gaze and looked up again.
“I’ll take that as an o.k.”

I headed back towards my house, stepping through the knee-high grass and avoiding the pitted spaces between dirt clogs. My crystal pendant swung as I walked. I tucked it under my shirt.

Finally, I got to my back fence, and hefted myself over. I jumped down onto the backyard grass. I saw Mom standing on the patio; hands on her hips, and the ‘I’m-in-trouble’ look on her face.
“Where have you been Wanda? I’ve been calling for almost 10 minutes.”

I looked down, arms behind my back. “I guess I was further out than I thought. I didn’t hear you till just a bit ago.” There that was the truth; I’d not heard her until I was out of the cave. And I had been too far away to hear her.

“Next time, you need to be more careful where you set up a place to read. I need to be able to call you in Wanda. You’re not really supposed to be out there, close to the house, I can still watch you.”

I hunched my shoulders, getting in the dejected posture that seemed to help show I was sorry when I was busted. I couldn’t tell mom about the fairies. Would you? And if she believed that, would she believe I was their new Keeper? I didn’t even know what that was yet. Or how I was going to find the magical spring. Or how I was going to save the fairies from the pollution disease.

“Come inside. It’s way past dinner. It’s cold now, so I’ll have to warm it up in the microwave.” Mom turned in the patio doorway, and retreated into the house. I turned behind me to see a crow land on my back fence.

“I’m sorry”, I whispered behind me. “I have to go in for dinner. But I’ll be out again as soon as I can.”

“CAW.”

I turned and went inside.

The Lost Secret of Fairies.

is a children’s book for ages 8-12, middle reader novel. It is the first book in the Crystal Keeper series.

About Tiffany Turner

I am a teacher by day, writer during the evening and weekends. I've written a children's fantasy series called the Crystal Keeper Chronicles. I've learned a lot as an Independent author. I want to share that now through blog posts, interviewing fellow authors, and reviewing other children's books. If you don't see it out there, build the blog yourself. I'm hoping to create a resource for people to find quality children's books that don't always fall along the lines of mainstream.

One response »

Leave a Reply

