#SampleSunday May 8, 2011 Happy Mother’s Day

Standard

For Sample Sunday, I’d like to take an excerpt from my second book, The Lost Secret of the Green Man. Wanda and Edina, her newly found friend, are getting to know each other. While heading to the crystal store downtown, they stumble onto the subject of their mothers. Excerpt taken from pages 24-25:

Getting out of the crowd worked at least. We headed over to a bus stop that didn’t include my route home. How was I going to get home? Ok, don’t panic. You’re on a Crystal Keeper Quest. Finding out about how to help the fairies by going to a crystal store is a logical place to start. But how do I explain it to Mom? Wait. I could call her.

“Eddie, is there a phone booth or something near the store?” I tried to not sound too worried. I had a tendency to worry too much and show it. Sometimes it drove me a little crazy.

Eddie stopped looking down the road for the bus. “You can use my cell phone to call home if you want.” She dug in her backpack. “You need it now?” She looked up at me from her stance of balancing her backpack on her foot.

“No, maybe it would be better to call her once I’m there. It’s downtown right? I used to go before with my friend, Michelle, on Saturdays. It’s always better to let my mom know I’m ok, and where I am. She likes that. But it’s hard when I have to use pay phones. They’re hard to find now.”

“You can’t get a cell phone?”

“Too expensive. Mom doesn’t have one herself right now. The divorce is making it hard to make ends meet, she says.”

“Sorry Wanda. I remember when my parents got divorced. It was hard not having my mom around, but at least the fighting stopped.”

“You live with your Dad?

“Yeah, my mom went into the Peace Corps. She said she needed to find herself, and left not too long after my 9th birthday.” She picked up her backpack and let it hang on her shoulder. “If it hadn’t been for the fairies, I don’t think I’d gotten through it all. My dad is ok, but he’s not around a lot. But at least the fairies are there for me.”

“Yeah, they have made me feel less lonely since Michelle moved.”

The sound of the bus pulling up changed the conversation into a scurry for our backpacks. We filed into line and found two seats together. -From The Lost Secret of the Green Man

To all the Mothers today, sometimes kids just don’t appreciate you all the time. But they always know deep down that you’re important to them. And there are times others are like a mother to kids. It takes a lot of motherly love to help raise a child.

To all the Moms and any woman that supports a child in some way, Happy Mother’s Day!

About Tiffany Turner

I am a teacher by day, writer during the evening and weekends. I've written a children's fantasy series called the Crystal Keeper Chronicles. I've learned a lot as an Independent author. I want to share that now through blog posts, interviewing fellow authors, and reviewing other children's books. If you don't see it out there, build the blog yourself. I'm hoping to create a resource for people to find quality children's books that don't always fall along the lines of mainstream.

Leave a Reply

