Standing At The Finish Line

Standard

Runners at a Sydney Marathon at the finish line.

Runners at a Sydney Marathon at the finish line.

Sydney, July 2012. I’m standing in one of my favorite places as a tourist. My husband and I are visiting for our second trip, and we are lucky enough to come across a local marathon with the finish line in The Rocks, an area of Sydney, Australia. Looking around, I take a picture of the runners transfixed by their moment of triumph. I almost can’t pull away. I’m sucked into the moment.

But I’m not a runner. If anything, I’d have to walk a marathon. But I have the fullest respect for these people that take on a challenge such as this. Plus, I have friends back home that would appreciate seeing a marathon in Sydney. It’s for these friends, mostly work colleagues back in the United States, that I post pictures on Facebook of the event. I know they would enjoy watching these runners cross the finish line.

The Finish Line of the race spotted in the Rocks, Sydney.

The Finish Line of the race spotted in the Rocks, Sydney.

Today, April 15, 2013, in Boston. Two bombs are set off near the finish line of the Boston Marathon. I’m at a loss for words. I think of the people harmlessly watching the event, cheering on the runners that are still finishing after over 4 hours. I don’t think I can possibly imagine the rest. It’s too horrific.

But I know more has happened then this tragic event. Every time something like this happens, something is lost. The freedom to stand near the finish line of a race, or a sports event, at a concert, could this fear be passed on? Should fear take the place of the pure joy of experiencing? No. I will not be terrorized from the inside.

Security may change at events. Airports have proven this worldwide. But I do not feel that, even though my heart aches for the people in Boston, this harmful event will stop the freedom of people enjoying the simple act of experiencing the triumph of others. I will continue to sightsee, stand in a crowd, and cheer the winning or losing team. There is one person that said something that keeps repeating in my mind today. It was said by Anne Frank.

“In spite of everything, I still believe that people are really good at heart.” -Anne Frank

About Tiffany Turner

I am a teacher by day, writer during the evening and weekends. I've written a children's fantasy series called the Crystal Keeper Chronicles. I've learned a lot as an Independent author. I want to share that now through blog posts, interviewing fellow authors, and reviewing other children's books. If you don't see it out there, build the blog yourself. I'm hoping to create a resource for people to find quality children's books that don't always fall along the lines of mainstream.

Leave a Reply

