How To Run A Blog Tour: My Lessons

Standard

Topic: Running Your Own Blog Tour

Topic: Running Your Own Blog Tour

So, welcome all that participated or dropped by to visit my first blog tour hosted by the Indie Children’s Authors Connection. This post will be a little behind the scenes, as I share all the lessons learned and huge amount of friends that were made.

First, why should you run a blog tour? Well, it is a way to connect a whole lot of bloggers that are networking to share a certain content during a set block of time. I would recommend to try to join as a participant before you host a blog tour. It is a great way to learn the ropes.

Second, link up with a blog tour that fits with what you want to promote. I spent a good portion of the summer wanting to promote my fantasy adventure books for children. I joined a blog tour that sponsored fantasy as the theme. There were a range of different books, and it was a good way to get started. Add the fact my blog got featured for a day on Kboards.com, and it all conjoined into a lot of promotion for my books. Plus, I even sold a few books that week.

Third, I took what I learned, specializing in your genre and trying to bring that audience to your blog. I looked around for a Back to School related tour. I didn’t find one. So, I figured, if you build a blog tour, they will come and discover Indie Children’s Authors.

Realizing that I had an opportunity to support the mission of my blog, getting the word out about Indie Children’s Authors, I asked on my writing board, Kboards.com, if anyone would be interested. I got a HUGE response. You can read the almost 2 months of planning that went on with this thread here.

Back to School Blog Tour 2013  Sept. 2-6

Back to School Blog Tour 2013
Sept. 2-6

So, I whipped up a blog tour logo from some free clipart, and started organizing. I made up a list, sent out questions to authors, and gave deadlines. I made up a landing page through the page option on WordPress. I had some people come and go due to schedules, but we ended up with a fabulous list of participating authors. Here is the final list of authors:
1) Victoria Jeffrey
Blog Link: http://www.epistlepublishing.com
Featured Books: The Green Door, The Pumpkin Princess and The Winter Wolves

2)H.Y. Hanna
Blog Link: http://www.bighoneydogmysteries.com/
Featured EBook: Big Honey Dog Mysteries: Curse of the Scarab

3) Sibel Hodge:
Website: http://www.sibelhodge.com/
Featured Book: It’s A Catastrophe

4) Vivienne Mathews
Blog: http://viviennemathews.blogspot.com/
Featured Book: The Sons of Masguard and the Mosque Hill Fortune, Part Two (Volume Two)

4) W.N.Rae
Book: The Night Clock
Website: http://otherrealmspost.tumblr.com/

5) Becca Price
Website: http://www.wyrmtalespress.com/
Featured Book: Dragon and Dreams Bedtime Stories

6) Scott Pixello
Facebook Page link: https://www.facebook.com/scott.pixello
Featured Book: Rainbow

I’d like to thank everyone for making the first Back to School Blog Tour a success.

So, what did I learn? I think I’m going to go for invitation to participate next time, limit to five authors for manageability, and cut the book giveaway bundle. We ended up not have any entries, but leave the authors to do their own giveaways if they wish.

I’m staying with the featured author interviews, and will work as that being the host site feature. I did have study questions and Back to School memories as a popular blog topic for participants.

So, I learned a lot, and I’m glad to share the wealth. If you are interested in hosting your own blog tour; keep it simple. Simple is good and easier to manage. Add onto it as you do another blog tour in the future. To conclude, enjoy yourself. I was happy to host a place for new Indie authors to be discovered. I’m hoping I’ve created a niche, and now, hopefully, an annual event.

**This post is part of the monthly
“Indie Life” posts linked on the Indelibles Blog.

The Lost Secret of Dragonfire is available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

The Lost Secret of Dragonfire is available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

***Tiffany Turner has just released her third book, The Lost Secret of Dragonfire, in her Crystal Keeper series. She continues to teach fourth graders in California while writing fantasy adventure middle grade novels. She is working on other writing projects in her No Limits Writing practices. She actively plays the Gaelic Harp at Renaissance festivals throughout Northern California.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

