Interview with Tymeka Coney

Standard
Tymeka Coney is the author of the children’s book, “I Don’t Like Racism”.

With the social change needing to be still addressed in the US, I’m proud to present the next book and author on my blog. Tymeka Coney has a long list of credentials and experience in the areas of entertainment and writing. With expertise as a Radio DJ and Personality to starting her own entertainment company, Tymeka lends her public speaking skills in pursuit of activism. In new children’s book, “I Don’t Like Racism”, Tymeka Coney tells the story through the eyes of a young African-American girl as she witnesses police brutality. Tymeka spoke to me about her childhood reading memories, what authors inspire her, and what she has planned for future projects.

1) What is your favorite memory from reading as a child?

Tymeka Coney: My favorite memory as a child is reading lots of books and ordering them from the Scholastic Book Clubs at school. I will always remember the quote, “Reading is Fundamental.”


2) Who was your favorite author and how did they influence you?

Tymeka Coney: Maya Angelou was my favorite author and poet. She influenced me with her quotes and wisdom and also in writing my first book which was, “Words Unspoken Volume I: Deeper Than Eyes Can See.”-Poetry Book


3) Do you have a writing routine? Share what works for you.

Tymeka Coney: My writing routine is to write what flows naturally and not force any writing. I like for it to be quiet so that I can hear the words I want to write about and hear the character’s dialogue in my head.

4) What subjects would you like to write about in future projects?

Tymeka Coney: I would certainly like to write another children’s book. My new children’s picture book, “I Don’t Like Racism,” was fun to write.


5) What is writing to you in one sentence?

Tymeka Coney: Writing to me is Serenity.

“I Don’t Like Racism” is a story told from the point of view of an African-American girl witnessing police brutality. She goes on a journey to understand what racism is, and how to seek peace and positive change as an activist. This book reaches out to teach all ages, genders and nationalities about racism while inspiring us all to unite and love despite the color of our skin. This book will get readers thinking about what they can do to effect positive change while choosing peace when fighting for social change. It will be a great read-aloud for any classroom library, and a useful tool for distance/online learning.

“I Don’t Like Racism” is available on Amazon.com.

For more information on the author Tymeka Coney, please visit her website at: https://www.tymekaconey.com/.

American Flag flown outside Mrs. Turner’s house to honor those veteran’s that have and are serving our great country.

I’d also like to end today’s post with a sincere thank you to all of our veteran’s for their sacrifice and service to our country. Thank you vets on this Veteran’s Day, November 11, 2020!

Leave a comment